What was the Full Members Cup?

English football is one of the most competitive ones in the world. Visit now the new Pakistan betting sites – 1xBet also allows you to wager on all matches from this country.

However, not everything has been positive during the history of the sport in this country. The horrific Heysel Stadium disaster happened in 1985. Here 39 people died after a riot occurred during the European Cup final of that year between Liverpool and Juventus. The new Pakistan betting sites provided by 1xBet can also be used to wager on all matches of those two teams.

One of the consequences of this event was the expulsion of all English teams from competitions organized by UEFA. This had an interesting sidenote, which was the creation of a brand-new football competition in England, which was the Full Members Cup.

A temporary tournament

This ban imposed on the English team was quite bad news for the squads. The website can be visited while waiting for football matches played in this part of the world. In 1985 the FA decided that during the duration of the ban, a temporary competition would be established that would “replace” the UEFA tournaments. This is how the Full Members Cup came to be.

The name of the tournament is quite interesting. Back in the 1980s the Premier League, which is currently featured at 1xBet, had not been created yet. The top two levels of English football during those years were the First Division and the Second Division. All teams that were part of those leagues were considered as “full members” of the FA.

On the other hand, teams that participated in the Third Division and the Fourth Division were merely seen as “associate members” of the entity.

Winners of the tournament

Seven seasons of the Full Members Cup were celebrated between 1985 and 1992, when English squads were reinstated by UEFA. In that year there was also a substantial reform to English football which also led to the termination of the tournament. It included the creation of the Premier League, and also a complete reorganization of the lower divisions. You can now try the best slots only on 1xBet, which is a perfect activity to do while waiting for UEFA-sanctioned tournaments.

The winners of the Full Members Cup were:

  • Chelsea;
  • Blackburn Rovers;
  • Reading;
  • Nottingham Forest;
  • and Crystal Palace.

Chelsea and Nottingham Forest won the Full Members Cup on two occasions each. Additionally, it is also worth noting that Blackburn Rovers and Reading were part of the Second Division when they won their respective titles. The best slots are only available on 1xBet, and are a perfect opportunity to explore before the games of the English Premier League begin.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button